A Small Back Pack

20170327_141625

I made a sturdy back pack to make the trek cross-country. I am pretty excited about this project. It is part of a self drafted pattern I’ve used a few times to try and get the kinks out.

20170327_141740

There are 2 front pockets and a secret side pocket near the zipper. The inside is lined with hot pink buffalo plaid in order to stay true to the owners love of all things pink.

The outside is a a really cool denim by Nano Iro. I picked it up on a remnant table so it must have been from a collection a while ago.

20170327_141808

20170327_141648

The only thing to reconsider is ribbon cannot be substituted for actual webbing for the straps. I had to tie knots at the adjuster towards the end of the trip.

This is a great preschool back pack and I am considering making several to sell. We shall see.

Thanks for checking out my project!

Laura

2 thoughts on “A Small Back Pack

  1. Great back pack! I was thinking about making a similar one for when my son goes to preschool. Did you use some interlining? Of is the denim doing the trick?

    • Thank you! I used a pretty light weight denim so i used three layers- denim, interfacing (cant remember if it was medium weight) and a flannel lining. The inside has a zig zag stitch to keep edges from fraying. It was a fun project.

Leave a Reply

