I Heart My Chest-Protector

As I watch my daughter run and climb and charge blindly into a baseball bat or toward feet from a tire swing I feel it may be time to rethink her sports clothes. My daughter is a very unique girl; of course all children are special, but she in particular has a little vulnerability about her chest. It makes my husband and I a little nervous sometimes as the world constantly throws blunt objects in the way of toddlers…

WP_20150618_09_41_38_Pro

My plan was simply to give a little extra protection, but still be flexible and safe against her skin. My first thought was to visit sports stores which was not very helpful. A search on the internet came up with the same empty unhelpful results. We came up with a small chest protector that could fit inside a pocket which she can’t get to.

WP_20150522_06_47_12_Pro

I hand sewed 3 layers: 2 pieces of rubber/foam (from a thin yoga mat) with canvas, or duck cloth, in between.

WP_20150522_06_09_22_ProWP_20150522_06_10_49_Pro

It works great for our purposes and she doesn’t even know its there, and I feel a much more relieved knowing that as she grows and her body changes we are able to help keep her safe.

WP_20150618_09_18_20_Pro

This post is in no way intended to give medical advice to others, just to show how our household was able to solve a very unique issue. Always check with your doctor is you have concerns about your children.

Leave a Reply

