Expecting Sun Overalls

I came back from vacation with a renewed sense of creativity. It’s odd how we can grow from holding back sometimes.

When we arrived home I immediately organized my precious stash of fabric and circled it like a famished shark. I have recently acquired new material; some from the remnant piles of stores, a little from homes being cleaned out for rentals or selling, and some off the tarps of the flea market (my newest find was an entire bolt of blue fabric for $10!!…yes people were hounding my husband as he carried it around for me). This fresh blood, so to speak, has given all the cottons and knits colorfully folded a new vibrant feel. I plunged in .This was the result:

WP_20150426_11_31_01_ProWeirdly enough I made a template for this in one pattern piece…that’s right, these overalls are just one cut into the material. It is the longest, most misshaped pattern you’ve ever seen, but it worked. I paired a favorite pants pattern with the front and back shirt bodice, with loose measurements I made the straps extra long so they could fold on themselves to allow extra growth.

I did decide to make a lining. In hindsight I would have the lining extend almost to the crotch so that the awkward center seam does not irritate baby skin. I stitched the lining and overalls together at the waist in two rows and put a cute drawstring in for detail and because I didn’t know how loose it would be on her. A couple button holes worked perfect in the outer material to let the ribbon through. One other detail I put extra time into is a folded cuff, I think it adds a little charm since there is not a lot of visual design to this outfit.

Overall these came out great. I am taking into consideration that there were no fittings or clear cut way to do this; however that center seam is probably going to have me rethinking the top piece. This outfit will work for the season.

WP_20150426_18_27_55_Pro  WP_20150426_18_27_27_ProWP_20150426_11_30_52_Pro

What gives you a rush of inspiration?

Leave a Reply

