Family Threads From The Past – Recreating Clothes & Attitudes From Old Photos

To start the series I wanted to begin with a fabulous family picture of my Mom from the 1970’s. Here they are side by side.


When I started to think about the design it was so simple, however now I realize the original was shorts and my version is just a dress. Anyway I think it came out great and I’m happy with the result. I do hope it will still fit for the 4th of July. It seems a natural.


The construction was smooth. I started out with a bodice pattern piece and sleeve I know fits and built it from there. I cut a special small blue patch for the center.

I did do an extra few steps which I know see aren’t necessary. Basically it’s just a matter of sewing the blue swatch to the front skirt. It’s really important to hem the blue at this point and luckily I remembered!

These pockets are just fun!

 This was a fun way to connect to with the past. Its a unique style that i surely will not find in the stores! I hope your projects are just as rewarding this week!

Check out the intro, Threads From The Past HERE

2 thoughts on “Family Threads From The Past – Recreating Clothes & Attitudes From Old Photos

Leave a Reply

